National Contract Management Association

Home Contact

What is the ICCM–D?

The Industry Certification in Contract Management – Defense (ICCM–D) is a certification awarded by the National Contract Management Association (NCMA) that parallels the Defense Acquisition Workforce Improvement Act (DAWIA) certifications in contracting. The formal education, experience, and specialized training required are the same for the ICCM–D and for DAWIA.

What is the level of education required to become certified?

A bachelors degree in any field of study and at least 24 semester hours among these topic areas: accounting, law, business, finance, contracts, purchasing, economics, industrial management, marketing, quantitative methods, or organization and management.

Who is eligible to apply for the ICCM–D certification?

The ICCM–D certifications are open to any qualified contracting professional who is not currently eligible for DAWIA certification because of employment.

Eligibility/Steps to Certification

Required courses for the ICCM–D Levels I, II, and III are the same as those required for Defense Acquisition Workforce Improvement Act (DAWIA) Contracting Certification Levels I, II, and III. Current DAWIA required courses are listed at the iCatalog Home Page.

Steps to Certification:

1. Complete application

2. Send to NCMA with applicable fees and supporting documents

3. NCMA reviews application

4. NCMA sends ICCM Certificate and letter.


All ICCM designees are required to recertify by December 31st of the second year following certification, and every two years thereafter. For example, in 2015, those who earned their designation in 2013 are affected.

Recertification Fee: $50.00 for members and $65 for nonmembers.

Renewal requires documentation of 80 hours of Continuing Professional Education (CPE). The 80 CPEs are equivalent to the 80 Continuous Learning Points (CLP) as required for maintaining DAWIA and FAC-C certifications. CPE may be earned in a number of ways. See the NCMA CPE Guide for details.

For complete information on this certification, visit the ICCM-D Certifications page at NCMA.