National Contract Management Association

Home Contact

What is the ICCM–F?

The Industry Certification in Contract Management – Federal (ICCM–F) is a certification awarded by the National Contract Management Association (NCMA) that parallels the Federal Acquisition Certification in Contracting (FAC–C). The formal education, experience, and specialized training required are the same for the ICCM–F and for FAC–C.

What is the level of education required to become certified?

Depending on the level sought, a bachelors degree or at least 24 semester hours or a bachelors degree and at least 24 semester hours among these topic areas: accounting, business, contracts, economics, finance, industrial management, law, marketing, purchasing, quantitative methods, and organization and management.

Who is eligible to apply for the ICCM–F certification?

The ICCM–F certifications are open to any qualified contracting professional who is not eligible for FAC–C due to current employment.

Eligibility/Steps to Certification

The courses required for the ICCM–F Levels I, II, and III are identical to those required for Federal Acquisition Certification-Contracting (FAC-C) Levels I, II, and III. The current list of required courses is available at the Federal Acquisition Institute

Steps to Certification:

1. Complete application

2. Send to NCMA with applicable fees and supporting documents

3. NCMA reviews application

4. NCMA sends ICCM Certificate and letter.


All ICCM designees are required to recertify by December 31st of the second year following certification, and every two years thereafter. For example, in 2015, those who earned their designation in 2013 are affected.

Recertification Fee: $50.00 for members and $65 for nonmembers.

Renewal requires documentation of 80 hours of Continuing Professional Education (CPE). The 80 CPEs are equivalent to the 80 Continuous Learning Points (CLP) as required for maintaining DAWIA and FAC-C certifications. CPE may be earned in a number of ways. See the NCMA CPE Guide for details.

For complete information on this certification, visit the ICCM-F Certifications page  at NCMA.